Splunk Search

Joining search in Splunk using Ticket Number Field

leymandudu
Explorer

Greetings, I am new to Splunk and I have an assignment where I needed to extract data based on ticket number and time stamp for "Add Task" and "Resolve".

A ticket contains both comment from inception to completion.

Here is an example of my code;

index=sperf_default source=prod.system.btds.ticket.updated.preproc (EB FIX VERIFY/DENY) activity_type="ADD TASK"
| join ticket_number type=inner [ search index=sperf_default source=prod.system.btds.ticket.updated.preproc activity_type="resolve" ] 

Thank you.

Labels (3)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Why export to Excel?  Splunk can calculate the difference.

index=sperf_default source=prod.system.btds.ticket.updated.preproc ((EB FIX VERIFY/DENY) activity_type="ADD TASK") OR (activity_type="resolve")
| stats values(*) as *, range(_time) as diff by ticket_number
| eval diff=tostring(diff, "duration")

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
What is your question? You have a query. Does it not produce the desired results? What results do you get? What results do you expect?
---

leymandudu
Explorer

Thanks Galloway,

The query is not giving me expected result when exported to excel.

What I am trying to achieve is the following,

Ticket Number      Activity_Type    Time                                         Activity_Type                   Time                             Status

2222000022          Add Task        1/2/2020 15:12:45                  Resolve                 2/1/2020 12:12:12          Closed

I want to be able to calculate the time difference between when the Task is added and when it is resolved.

Thanks

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Why export to Excel?  Splunk can calculate the difference.