Getting Data In

WEF-forwarded events metadata and non-defined input

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi there

I'm trying hard to make sense of events forwarded by WEF/WEC and collected by UF.

I have a WEF subscription that forwards events from a host called "WinDev2102Eval" to a host "testdziura".

On that host I have a UF installed along with Splunk_TA_windows app.

I have an input defined quite normally:

[WinEventLog://ForwardedEvents]
evt_resolve_ad_obj = 0
checkpointInterval = 5
current_only = 0
disabled = 0
start_from = oldest
index = winevents
renderXml = true
host=WinEventLogForwardHost

There is nothing out of the ordinary.

The events that come from the WEC host iself are shown as having host field set to "testdziura" (as configured in system/local/inputs.conf), the events collected from the other host are shown with host "WinDev2102Eval". Which is OK from the logical point of view.

I don't understand though how I can match those WEF-forwarded events in props.conf (I need to perform some additional transforms for a subset of those events).

Adding stanza [host::testdziura] applies only to events generated locally on the WEC host, not to those collected into Forwarded Events.

Stanza [host::WinDev2102Eval] simply doesn't work.

Surprisingly [source::WinEventLog:ForwardedEvents] applies to those forwarded events but this definition is way too broad for me.