Splunk Search

Using the Splunk Tutorial data, how to find the number of hits and top 20 category and top 20 domain?

rishabh4

How to find the number of hits and top 20 category and top 20 domain using the tutorial data on Splunk. Please help, I am new to Splunk. I also want to know the "status code count" of it so please help me fast.

0 Karma
1 Solution

niketn
Legend

@rishabh4. You have mentioned three cases. To begin with you need three commands

Top 20 domain (Do not show percent, show count)

<YourBaseSearch> referer=*
| top 20 referer_domain showperc=f showcount=t

Top 20 category (Do not show percent, show count)

<YourBaseSearch> categoryId=*
| top 20 categoryId showperc=f showcount=t

PS: There might not be 20 Categories in tutorial data
Status code count

<YourBaseSearch> status=*
| stats count as Count by status
| sort - Count

For details on any SPL command you should refer to docs.splunk.com. When you load the data ensure that you check what index data is loaded and what is the sourcetype. Splunk default index is main (unless you have created your own). Also the tutorial data belong to two sourcetypes access and secure. So your base search could be. Following is an example for base search it may vary based on how you have added data.

index=main sourcetype=access*

There is a scope of using Post Processing in your searches if you want to add multiple search to single dashboard. However, that is slightly advanced topic which you can learn from Splunk Docs once you are comfortable with SPL commands.

PS: Immediately after adding the data Splunk gives you an option to search Added data (Start Searching) which builds a sample base search.

View solution in original post

dibyanshu

Listed below all required spl-query::

Case-1 : Total Number of Hits:

==============index=ds |stats count by clientip |stats sum(count) as Total_Number_of_Hits=======================

Note: Ensure to replace index name: ds with your own created or default-main