Splunk Search

Search Query for Nested Jobs

snehasal
Explorer

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to Splunk and trying to create Dashboards for Data Visualization. I have Real Time Data Logs stored in a log file which I need to push to Dashboard. In my application, we have Multiple Jenkins Jobs which run daily or multiple times in a day. Each job is a workflow and inside one workflow we have multiple sessions which run.
e.g. WorkFlow1 : Has 3 Sessions named as Session1 to Session3 inside it.
Events occur as
WorkFlow1 Start -> Session1 Start -> Session1 End-> Session2 Start -> Session2 End-> Session3 Start -> Session3 End -> WorkFlow1 End
WorkFlow2 Start ->.....-> WorkFlow2 End
.....so on

I want to create a Dashboard which displays
1. average duration of each Session inside a workflow
2. average duration of entire Workflow

The logs are stored in below format:
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=WF_Start (this is start of WorkFlow)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=S_Start (this is start of Session1 inside WF1)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=S_End (this is end of Session1 inside WF1)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=WF_End (this is end WF1)
and so on

Request you to please guide me how to proceed with search query

Thanks,
Sneha Salvi

0 Karma
1 Solution

DalJeanis
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Okay, so is this the way it looks with multiple sessions in the workflow?

[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=WF_Start (this is start of WorkFlow)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=S_Start (this is start of Session1 inside WF1)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S1 Step=S_End (this is end of Session1 inside WF1)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S2 Step=S_Start (this is start of Session2 inside WF1)
[TimeStamp] WorkFlowName= WF1 SessionName = WF1.S2 Step=S_End (this is end of Session2 inside WF1)