Splunk Search

When trying to extract new field, why do I get "Error in 'SearchOperator:loadjob': ... cannot proxy an ad-hoc job in a searchhead cluster." error?

buchs
Explorer

While I am trying to extract a new field, I get this error

Error in 'SearchOperator:loadjob': The search artifact for job <UUID> is not available because we cannot proxy an ad-hoc job in a searchhead cluster. Please run the search locally.

I saw another q&a here on the same message, however, the context does not fit mine. I don't have a saved search that I am trying to run. I am just trying to get the extraction of a new field going. Any ideas?

I am a real newbie at Splunk, so I'm not entirely sure what some of the terms in the message mean. E.g.: "search artifact", "proxy", "searchhead cluster" and "locally".

Unfortunately, I'm not getting much help from my local Splunk admin.

Here are the steps I take to reproduce this error.

1. Log into Splunk UI
  2. Select the App of interest
  3. Enter search query and run it.
  4. Events returned include text like: "... for gantry 97685 with..." and I would like to extract that gantry number.
  5. Scroll down on the list of fields on the left column, to "+ Extract New Fields" and select that.
  6. On the "Select Sample Event" page, I get the error: "Error in 'SearchOperator:loadjob': The search artifact for job '1488295624.4583_53B415AD-15ED-4195-82D1-C5B5DF38FCE3' is not available because we cannot proxy an ad-hoc job in a searchhead cluster. Please run the search locally."

Other times, it goes beyond that point, so I can select the sample, then in select method I click the link for defining my own regular expression or I let Splunk try it, and I'll get the error as the next page. Other times, I've been able to go all the way to "Save" and get the error there.

rishimaths
Engager

Hi
I am getting error when runing machine learning apps and fields are not populating.

Can you please suggest solution?