Splunk Search

I need help with my search query

jcorkey
Explorer

I have the follow search query:

sourcetype=linux_secure source="/var/log/*" "su: ("  | eval Date=strftime(_time, "%Y/%m/%d") | rex ".*:\d{2}\s(?<hostname>\S+)" | rex "su:\s\Sto\sroot\S\s(?<SU>\S+)"  | stats  count by Date, hostname, SU  | rename  count as "Occurrences"  | rename  SU as "Account with Escalated Privileges" | sort - Date

The regex seems wrong. I got the search from gosplunk.com and it's supposed to help detect who escalated privileges on any host in a given time range. I'm not good with regex and can't tell if this is wrong and why it's not working.

0 Karma
1 Solution

cpetterborg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

My linux_secure data looks different in the format. This worked for my data:

sourcetype=linux_secure  "su:" | eval Date=strftime(_time, "%Y/%m/%d") | rex ".:\d{2}\s(?<hostname>\S+)" | rex "by (?<SU>[^(]+)"  | stats count by Date, hostname, SU | rename count as "Occurrences" | rename SU as "Account with Escalated Privileges" | sort - Date

View solution in original post

sbbadri
Motivator

@jcorkey

index=nix source=/var/log/*  "su: (" | eval Date=strftime(_time,"%Y/%m/%d") | rex field=_raw ".*:\d{2}\s(?P&lt;hostname&gt;\S+)" | rex field=_raw "su\:\s+\(\S+\s\S+\)\sroot\s\S+\s(?P&lt;SU&gt;\S+)" | stats count by Date, hostname, SU | rename count as "Occurrences" | rename SU as "Account with Escalated Privileges" | sort - Date
0 Karma

DalJeanis
Legend

marked as code for you

0 Karma

cpetterborg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

My linux_secure data looks different in the format. This worked for my data:

sourcetype=linux_secure  "su:" | eval Date=strftime(_time, "%Y/%m/%d") | rex ".:\d{2}\s(?<hostname>\S+)" | rex "by (?<SU>[^(]+)"  | stats count by Date, hostname, SU | rename count as "Occurrences" | rename SU as "Account with Escalated Privileges" | sort - Date

jcorkey
Explorer

This seems to be working. Thanks!

0 Karma

cpetterborg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust