Splunk Enterprise Security

How to add new field to a search from results of another search

garciajbg
Explorer

PLEASE BE PATIENT I AM NEW TO THIS

All, I am trying to use the results of a search (search 1) and create a new field in (search 2) to use as a “corresponding” field to identify user credentials. Search 1 field1 needs to correspond with search 2 fiieldX. fieldX in search 2 does not exist. The fields from both searches have different field names however fields 2 and 3 on search 1 has the same results/parameters as field 8 and 11 on search 2.

I tried to use search 1 as a lookup and invoke it however I can’t seem to make that work due to field names not being the same on both searches. Any assistance and guidance for similar searches will be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance.

Search # 1
index=1 sourcetype=sourcetype1 | fields field1 field2 field3 | table field1 field2 field3 | dedup field2

Search # 2
index=2 sourcetype=souretype2 eventSource=eventSource eventName=Create OR eventName=Delete | fields field4 field5 field6 field7 field8 field9 field10 field11 field11 | dedup field4 | table field5 field6 field7 field8 field9 field10 field11 fieldX | rename field5 field5 as Event field6 as Time field7 Location field8 as Item_Name field9 as IP field10 as User field11 as Role fieldX as “???”

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Like this:

index="2" AND sourcetype="souretype2" AND eventSource="eventSource" AND (eventName="Create" OR eventName="Delete") AND field4="*"
| fields field4 field5 field6 field7 field8 field9 field10 field11 field11
| dedup field4
| table field5 field6 field7 field8 field9 field10 field11 fieldX
| rename field5 AS Event field6 AS Time field7 AS Location field8 AS Item_Name field9 AS IP field10 AS User field11 AS Role fieldX AS [search index=1 sourcetype=sourcetype1 field2="*" | head 1 | return $field2 ]
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Like this: