Splunk AppDynamics

Beacon Lifecycle

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi there

We're trying to gather some facts about Beacon Lifecycle in Mobile Agents. From the documentaion is says that beacons are only persisted if they can't be transmitted. So can we assume that once the beacon is sent out, it gets deleted immediately?

Best

Silvan

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma

Jonathan_Weng
Explorer

Hello Silvan,

Yes, simply put, once a beacon is sent across the network, the local copy is deleted immediately.

To explain in a little more detail, individual events such as button clicks are enqueued in memory and sometimes persisted to the file system as individual files if the queue in memory is getting too large. A number of these files are then gzipped into a single file which makes up a beacon (or sometimes beacons are created from the in-memory queue directly). In case the beacon fails during transmission, the file is persisted so that it can be sent again, but once the beacon is successfully sent, the beacon file is deleted immediately.

Best regards,

Jonathan

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Data Management Digest – September 2026

    Welcome to the September 2026 edition of Data Management Digest! September brought a fresh wave of ...

Federated Search for CloudWatch Unified Data Store Is Generally Available

As organizations modernize their cloud environments, AWS workloads generate more security, operational, and ...

Announcing Modern Navigation: A New Era of Splunk User Experience

We are excited to introduce the Modern Navigation feature in the Splunk Platform, available to both cloud and ...