Security

Delete User or Roles?

hjwang
Contributor

Hi~there,

when deleting users or roles from WebUI, I found the user directory in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/users/username is still existing. Does it must be deleted manually? And the role stanza in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/authorize.conf also not be deleted. Does this also be done manually?

Thanks

Tags (2)
0 Karma

gleblanc1783
Engager

After deleting the user, they can no longer log in, however, the folder is still there (I'm assuming for backup purposes).
If you no longer need any files in that users' directory, I would remove it.

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

A Four-Part Event Series: State of Observability - Where AI Meets Performance

As AI agents take on more complex tasks, teams need greater visibility into how they behave, what they cost, ...

Persistent Queue at TcpOut — One of Splunk's Most Practical Features

Splunk introduced persistent queueing at the tcpout layer as one of the most practical resilience features in ...

Build resilience for the agentic era: Join us at Splunk Go San Jose

AI is changing how organizations build, operate, and secure digital services. As teams adopt AI agents and ...