Security

Delete User or Roles?

hjwang
Contributor

Hi~there,

when deleting users or roles from WebUI, I found the user directory in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/users/username is still existing. Does it must be deleted manually? And the role stanza in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/authorize.conf also not be deleted. Does this also be done manually?

Thanks

Tags (2)
0 Karma

gleblanc1783
Engager

After deleting the user, they can no longer log in, however, the folder is still there (I'm assuming for backup purposes).
If you no longer need any files in that users' directory, I would remove it.

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Windows 11.0.3: Parse Once, Search Faster

The updated Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Windows helps customers search Windows events faster by reducing ...

What's New in Splunk Enterprise Security 8.8 and Beyond

Threats move at machine speed. Keeping up should not depend on having the biggest budget, the largest team, or ...

A Four-Part Event Series: State of Observability - Where AI Meets Performance

As AI agents take on more complex tasks, teams need greater visibility into how they behave, what they cost, ...