Security

Delete User or Roles?

hjwang
Contributor

Hi~there,

when deleting users or roles from WebUI, I found the user directory in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/users/username is still existing. Does it must be deleted manually? And the role stanza in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/authorize.conf also not be deleted. Does this also be done manually?

Thanks

Tags (2)
0 Karma

gleblanc1783
Engager

After deleting the user, they can no longer log in, however, the folder is still there (I'm assuming for backup purposes).
If you no longer need any files in that users' directory, I would remove it.

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Mastering Threat Intelligence in ES 8.5, Splunk AI Assistant v2, and More from Splunk ...

Splunk Lantern is Splunk’s customer success center that provides practical guidance from Splunk experts on key ...

Break the Build: Inside the KubeDoom Lounge at .conf26

    You step up to the machine. The pixelated corridors of a certain 1993 FPS load in front of you, EMP Pulse ...

Splunk Auto Ingestion Parallel Pipeline Scaling

Why this feature matters Many Splunk environments experience ingestion pressure long before the host is fully ...