Security

Browser Usage Statistics

mapugh73
Engager

Hello Splunkers,

I am new to Splunk and I'm having a hard time generating what should be a simple report. I'd like to produce a pie chart that shows browser usage by major browser (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Safari, etc.).

I started with the following mess of a query, but it doesn't give me "chartable" results:

sourcetype="access" useragent!="-"
AND useragent!="Apache*"
AND useragent!="Load-weight*"
AND useragent!="Java*"
AND useragent!="Jakarta Commons-HttpClient*"
AND useragent!="Mozilla/4.0 en"
| table SessionCookie, useragent
| dedup SessionCookie
| stats
count(eval(match(useragent, "Firefox"))) as "Firefox",
count(eval(match(useragent, "Chrome"))) as "Chrome",
count(eval(match(useragent, "Safari"))) as "Safari",
count(eval(match(useragent, "MSIE"))) as "IE",
count(eval(NOT match(useragent, "Chrome|Firefox|Safari|MSIE"))) as "Other"

Does anyone have an example query that could get me to my pie chart?

Thanks,
Mark

Tags (2)
0 Karma

totalnet32

,did anyone get this to work?
Regex: syntax error in subpattern name (missing terminator)

0 Karma

joshd
Builder

If you're copying/pasting the search I posted and answer for back in 2011 then the HTML chars in the regex are breaking it (dont know why those are there)... but also note there are addons and custom commands people have developed since there that are a bit more detailed/flexible than this post was...

If you want to use this search then it should be like this:

index=access_logs
 | fields + user_agent
 | rex field=user_agent "((?<browser_ff>Firefox\S+)|(?<browser_ie>MSIE [\d\.]+)|(?<browser_opera>Opera)|(?<browser_chrome>Chrome)|(?<browser_safari>Safari)|(?<browser_java>Java\S+)|(?<browser_nagios>nagios\S+)|(?<browser_nessus>[Nn][Ee][Ss][Ss][Uu][Ss])|(?<browser_apache>Apache\S+))"
 | eval browser_none=if(user_agent=="-","None","")