Getting Data In

Remove capabilities in authorize.conf

alexlee-mv
New Member

I see capabilities in Splunk are defined in the authorize.conf. For security reason, i want to disable the delete by keyword capabilities in Splunk so no user could delete any data in splunk.

Could I just delete the line which define capabilities and all roles related to it.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

roychen
Path Finder

I just tried this out myself. Just comment out this line in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/default/authorize.conf and restart Splunk.

# [capability::delete_by_keyword]

The capability will no longer exist for the can_delete role, and you won't be able to assign it to any other role in the Splunk UI.

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

[Puzzles] Solve, Learn, Repeat: Classic British Rock Bands

This puzzle series (first published here) is based on extracting information from statements about well-known ...

New to the Community? Join Us for an Exclusive Post .conf26 Welcome Session (Plus a ...

Keep the .conf26 Energy Going: Welcome to the Splunk Community! Whether we scanned your badge at the Community ...

Accelerate Splunk App Development with AI

  Learn how to automate the repetitive parts of your build cycle.   Register to Attend   Join our Tech Talk ...