Getting Data In

Remove capabilities in authorize.conf

alexlee-mv
New Member

I see capabilities in Splunk are defined in the authorize.conf. For security reason, i want to disable the delete by keyword capabilities in Splunk so no user could delete any data in splunk.

Could I just delete the line which define capabilities and all roles related to it.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

roychen
Path Finder

I just tried this out myself. Just comment out this line in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/default/authorize.conf and restart Splunk.

# [capability::delete_by_keyword]

The capability will no longer exist for the can_delete role, and you won't be able to assign it to any other role in the Splunk UI.

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Persistent Queue at TcpOut — One of Splunk's Most Practical Features

Splunk introduced persistent queueing at the tcpout layer as one of the most practical resilience features in ...

Skip the Awkward Silence: Have a .conf-ersation at .conf26

Picture this. You arrive at .conf26 already having your socializing and networking plans mapped out. No ...

Rethinking Zero Trust: From Product Purchases to Logical Control Evidence

Implementing Zero Trust (ZT) across complex environments often falters at the very beginning due to a ...