Getting Data In

Remove capabilities in authorize.conf

alexlee-mv
New Member

I see capabilities in Splunk are defined in the authorize.conf. For security reason, i want to disable the delete by keyword capabilities in Splunk so no user could delete any data in splunk.

Could I just delete the line which define capabilities and all roles related to it.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

roychen
Path Finder

I just tried this out myself. Just comment out this line in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/default/authorize.conf and restart Splunk.

# [capability::delete_by_keyword]

The capability will no longer exist for the can_delete role, and you won't be able to assign it to any other role in the Splunk UI.

Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

SOC4Kafka - New Kafka Connector Powered by OpenTelemetry

The new SOC4Kafka connector, built on OpenTelemetry, enables the collection of Kafka messages and forwards ...

Rounding off the Splunk Dashboard Contest

What does a contest-winning Splunk dashboard look like? In this case, it isn't in a browser tab at all. It ...

A Four Part Event Series: AI + Observability: AI Agents, LLMs, Apps, & Infrastructure

AI + Observability: AI Agents, LLMs, Apps, & Infrastructure The rapid evolution of artificial intelligence ...