Dashboards & Visualizations

timechart results

DimitriosP
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hi,

I'm new to Splunk, but already loving it.

I have connected Splunk with our Jamf Pro instance and I'm trying to track the macOS upgrade process based on the macOS Build version.

Unfortunately, I'm only getting the results on the last, current day and not the last 30 days.

sourcetype="jamfmodularinput"
computer.hardware.os_build="19H2" OR computer.hardware.os_build="18G6032" OR computer.hardware.os_build="17G14033"
| dedup computer.pagination.id
| rex field=computer.hardware.os_build mode=sed "s/19H2/macOS Catalina/g"
| rex field=computer.hardware.os_build mode=sed "s/18G6032/macOS Mojave/g"
| rex field=computer.hardware.os_build mode=sed "s/17G14033/macOS High Sierra/g"
| timechart span=30d count BY computer.hardware.os_build
| sort -count

Could you please let me know what I'm doing wrong?

Screenshot 2020-10-03 at 17.25.38.png

Thank you in advance,

D

Labels (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @DimitriosP,

you're using 24 hours as time picker, so you're using only the events in the last 24 hours, so it's correct the result you have.

If you want a time distribution of 30 days, you have to use a larger time picker, or insert time modifiers (that override time picker) in your search.

Then you used span=30 days in timechart, this means that you have all the results in one column.

One hint, you don't need to replace values in field using rex command, you can also use eval instead the three rexes:

| eval computer.hardware.os_build=case(computer.hardware.os_build="19H2","macOS Catalina",computer.hardware.os_build="18G6032","macOS Mojave",computer.hardware.os_build="17G14033","macOS High Sierra")

So you could have:

computer.hardware.os_build="19H2" OR computer.hardware.os_build="18G6032" OR computer.hardware.os_build="17G14033" earliest=-30d@d latest=now
| dedup computer.pagination.id