Dashboards & Visualizations

Dashboard creation on multiple events

chris1
Explorer

Hi ,

I want to create the dashboard for the below event,

20 Aug 2015 11:56:36,271     :system.connector.dynamic.InvalidRemoteSessionException: com.system.kernel.CallObjectSystemException: Server problem. 

20 Aug 2015 09:51:07,562  System Exception occured while executing business function. Please try request again. :**SODetailLineStatusUpdateInterfac**(SO Detail Line Status Update from interface) 

I want the highlighted SODetailLineStatusUpdateInterfac (This may vary in next event, this is a function name) and in Y axis (InvalidRemoteSessionException) count of event.

Currently I am searching index=main *InvalidRemoteSessionException*, am getting only the first indexed data. Please suggest me how to create the dashboard on this case?

Tags (2)
0 Karma

anupjishnu
Path Finder

Did you try using stats count?

0 Karma

chris1
Explorer

Hi ,

I am new to splunk, I don't have much idea about that. Could you please help me?

0 Karma

anupjishnu
Path Finder

Stats Count reference = http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.1.3/SearchReference/Stats

The following will return you the number of events in your search results.
index=main InvalidRemoteSessionException | stats count(_time)

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@chris1, what problem are you trying to solve - getting a count of exceptions or getting both events in the same search?

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

chris1
Explorer

Hi ,

I want count of event (exception) in Y axis and function name in X axis

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You have two events more than two hours apart that appear to have nothing in common. How are they related?

---

chris1
Explorer

Hi ,

I have edited my log for posting here..Please find the correct log below,