All Apps and Add-ons

Help needed about scraping real time data using Website Input

kashifqau
Explorer

Hello Everyone,

Its my first time dealing with website input and getting web data into splunk.

I have to download real time data from http://wsprnet.org/olddb and am using "Website Input" app for this purpose, however I am having 2 questions

1. The web page is having several filters on top based upon which the table at downside gets populated with data. Can we adjust the data filters value using website input ?

2. Website input provides me with a minimum interval of 1second, where the data is continuously being populated. Also when I tried to create a css selector, it selects the whole table and creates a single event in Splunk consisting of all the data rows in that table e.g. if the table is displaying 50 rows, it creates a single event in Splunk which contains data of all 50 rows.

I want the css selector which creates a separate event for each data row in table and also I want to capture all the data.

Thank you for your cooperation and help

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

LukeMurphey
Champion

1. The web page is having several filters on top based upon which the table at downside gets populated with data. Can we adjust the data filters value using website input ?
The only way to make this work is to see if you can set arguments in the URL that will set the filters for you. You may want to try changing the filters and seeing the URL is updated automatically to correspond to your changes. If it does, then you ought to be able to copy the URL after you have adjusted the filters and use that as the URL to do the web-scraping from.

2. Website input provides me with a minimum interval of 1 second, where the data is continuously being populated.
Currently, 1 second is indeed the minimum.