All Apps and Add-ons

Extract specific lines from Message

JM12
Explorer

Hello All,

I am just learning Splunk and using rex but could you guys help me with my syntax to assist me in extract specific information from the Message table? Here is my sample syntax:

host="*<hostname>" EventCode=4624 OR EventCode=4724 | table _time host user Message | dedup user

Results in Message:

"An account was successfully logged on. 

Subject:

Security ID:

Account Name:

Account Domain:

LogonID:

ETC"

I really just want to pull the first part where it says "An account was successfully logged on." Or the first part of any message that does not need include the rest of the Message after. I know the syntax of the search could most definitely be better but I am just learning how to do these searches so if anyone has a better recommendation on how to do these searches please let me know. Otherwise if you could recommend how to filter the rest out through rex, that would be awesome as well! Thank you all in advance!

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Here's a simple rex command that uses sed to replace everything after the first period with nothing.

host="*<hostname>" EventCode=4624 OR EventCode=4724 
| fields _time host user Message 
| dedup user
| rex field=Message mode=sed "s/([^\.]+\.)([\s\S]*)/\1/"
---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Here's a simple rex command that uses sed to replace everything after the first period with nothing.

host="*<hostname>" EventCode=4624 OR EventCode=4724 
| fields _time host user Message 
| dedup user
| rex field=Message mode=sed "s/([^\.]+\.)([\s\S]*)/\1/"
---

JM12
Explorer

Hey Richgalloway,