Splunk Search

Identifying stale computers on network

Durwood
Engager

I am looking to identify specific assets that have not been logged into in over a set time. I am fairly new to all of this and trying to learn in a more hands on way. I was wondering what would be the best way to accomplish this?

I was thinking something like this but I don't think this is right:

EventCode=4624 AND [|inputlookup append=t Computers.csv] NOT [inputlookup append=t Dont_search.csv] | dedup host | table _time,host,user | sort host

Computers.csv - Specific computers that I want to track.

Dont_search.csv - Accounts that I DO NOT want to track. 

I am hoping to show all computers on my list regardless of whether they were logged in too. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Labels (3)
0 Karma

johnhuang
Motivator

Assuming that Computers.csv contains a field called "host" and Dont_search.csv contains "user".

source=WinEventLog:Security 4624 EventCode=4624 [| inputlookup Computers.csv | table host] earliest=-1d@d
| fields host user
| lookup Dont_search.csv user OUTPUT user AS filtered_user
| search NOT filtered_user=*
| stats max(_time) AS last_logon_time first(user) AS user BY host
| eval days_since_logon=ROUND((now()-last_logon_time)/86400, 2)
| eval last_logon_date=strftime(last_logon_time, "%Y-%m-%d")
| table host user days_since_logon last_logon_date
| append [| inputlookup Computers.csv | table host]
| dedup host | fillnull value="-"
| table host user days_since_logon last_logon_date

Includes domain field which should be more useful. 

source=WinEventLog:Security 4624 EventCode=4624 [| inputlookup Computers.csv | table host] earliest=-1d@d
| fields host user Account_Domain Security_ID
| lookup Dont_search.csv user OUTPUT user AS filtered_user | search NOT filtered_user=*
| eval domain=mvindex(Account_Domain, 1) | eval logon_id=mvindex(Security_ID, 1)
| search NOT domain="* *" | where host!=domain
| table _time host logon_id domain user