Splunk Search

How to filter values returned from an array field?

splguy
Engager

I have events with an array field named "tags".  The tags array has 2 fields for each array object named "name" and "type".  I reference this array as tags{}.name. 

The values being returned for one event are:
name, type
Dept_Finance, Custom
Asset_Workstation, Custom

My goal is to count the events by tags starting with "Dept_".

(index="index_name") | dedup id | stats count by tags{}.name

This returns the correct count of tags for "Dept_" but it's also including all other tags that do not begin with "Dept_".  The Asset_Workstation tag is attached to this event however I don't want it to output in the query.  How can I pull records with multiple tags but exclude all tags not beginning with "Dept_" from the output?

I know this is an easy thing to do but I'm still learning SPL.  Thanks for your help.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

splguy
Engager

Thanks for your reply.  It returns multiple results because there's more than one tag in the array per event.  "stats count by tags{}.name" returns 1 count for each tag.

os_system_name: Microsoft Windows
   os_type: Workstation
   os_vendor: Microsoft
   os_version: 22H2
   risk_score: 747.0674438476562
   severe_vulnerabilities: 1
   tags: [ [-]
     { [-]
       name: Asset_Workstation
       type: CUSTOM
     }
     { [-]
       name: Dept_Finance
       type: SITE
     }
   ]
   total_vulnerabilities: 1 

Results:

tags{}.namecount
Asset_Workstation1
Dept_Finance1

I wasn't able to run eval or where operations on the tags{}.name without getting an error so I was stuck.  I just stumbled on my answer but I appreciate your time looking at this.  I knew it had to be a simple query but I wasn't initially able to put it together.  Feel free to offer a better more efficient way to get the below results.

(index="index_name") | dedup id | stats count by tags{}.name | rename tags{}.name AS dept | where (dept like "Dept_%")

Results:

deptcount