Splunk Search

How to extract fields from Json from selected log and use it as table column?

rnach
Explorer

Hi all, I am new to Splunk. Right now I am trying to make a table out of a log, which contains different fields like Level = INFO etc., there's a field 

Log = {"objects":[object1, object2 ...], "info": "some strings", "id1": someInt, "id2": someInt} 

Log = {"objects":[object1, object2 ...], "info": "some other strings", "id1": someOtherInt, "id2": someOtherInt} 

Log = { "info": "some log strings"} 

Log = "some string"

I have tried a few rex and spath but it seems that it's not working well

I would like to extract "objects" field by different "info", for example, I need objects from Log but sometimes I need objects from the first Log above, and sometimes I need them from second Log ( for different panels in dashboard), and the way to separate them is by using "info"
And need to display objects in it in a chart under a column. Any help/hints are appreciated!

Labels (4)
0 Karma
1 Solution

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

In that case, you will need to define how Splunk should behave first.  For example, from the line where Log = "Some string", do you expect some use?  Such lines will simply give null values for info, objects{}, etc.

_raw_timeid1id2info
objects{}
Log = {"objects":["object1", "object2"], "info": "some strings", "id1": "someInt", "id2": "someInt"}2022-08-05 23:41:37someIntsomeIntsome strings
object1
object2
Log = {"objects":["object1", "object2", "object3"], "info": "some other strings", "id1": "someOtherInt", "id2": "someOtherInt"}2022-08-05 23:41:37someOtherIntsomeOtherIntsome other strings
object1
object2
object3
Log = { "info": "some log strings"}2022-08-05 23:41:37  some log strings 
Log = "some string"2022-08-05 23:41:37    

Based on your original description, the objective is really just to operate on those two fields.

After spath, you can definitely select objects{} from whichever info value.  For example,

| spath input=Log