Getting Data In

How to transform my raw data into a readable format?

markb81

Hi,

I'm new to Splunk and hope I don't ask a question that's already been asked. I just don't know which terminology to use to search.

I configured my firewall to send syslog messages to a syslog server. That syslog server is indexed with Splunk. Splunk indexes the UTF-8 messages. So far so good. All the data I need to see is in the index.

However now I would like to make it more readable. I would like for instance to search for IP port block to see why an IP and port is blocked.

The issue is that all the required data is in the _raw column. It looks like this:

23-02-2017 10:30 PM,Info,2001:x:x:20::1,pfsensefw.x.local,5,16777216,,1000000103,igb1,match,block,in,4,0x0,,49,47728,0,none,6,tcp,4x,21x.2.108.2,195.3x.2xxxx,9719,22,0,S,3273904238,,16143,,

How can I transform this data in something readable?

Date, time, severity, firewall IP, host, lot of data I don't need, action (block/accept),data I don't need, protocol, source IP, destination ip, source port, destination port

and if that's possible, is it possible to re-order them?

Hope somebody can help me with it.

Thanks!

Mark

0 Karma

DalJeanis
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Here's one potential regex. no idea what names you wanted for anything, so the names are arbitrary.

^(?<a1>[-\d]+\s[\d\:]+\s[^,]+),(?<a2>[^,]+),(?<a3>[^,]+),(?<a4>[^,]+),(?<a5>[^,]+),([^,]*,){6}(?<a7>[^,]+),(?<a8>[^,]*,){9}(?<a9>[^,]+),(?<a10_IP1>[^,]+),(?<a11_IP2>[^,]+),(?<a12_Port1>[^,]+),(?<a13_port2>[^,]+),(?<remainder>.+)$

When you build one up from scratch from the left, using a facility like regex101.com, use something like (?<remainder>.+)$ at the end so that you always will have a match for the rest. Saves a lot of guesswork and fumbling.

0 Karma

DalJeanis
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Used the field names from somesoni2's answer to update and debug. Try this -