Thanks for your answer. However some parts don't really make sense. First of all, your statement that user configs reside on in the normal user location rather than being merged to default is in contrast to the docs, which state:
"All files placed under both default and local subdirectories get merged into default subdirectories on the members, post-deployment. This holds true for both app and user subdirectories"
I'm assuming you are referencing something that is specific to 6.3, as I mentioned we are on 6.2.1.
Also, we have found that changes to savedsearches.conf in the users directories do get updated when pushed out via the deployer.
But pretty much what I'm taking away is that we are SOL and have to make the deletions from the file system on every search head.
... View more