Training + Certification Discussions

beginner wants to remove all data, start over with Lab from Mod 4

philfrei

I am just starting out to learn Splunk, and have just attempted the Module 4 Lab from Splunk 7.x Fundamentals Part 1. I have installed the free trial Splunk Enterprise on a cloud server employing Ubuntu 18.04.

As part of the Module 4 Lab, in the course of executing "Add Data" and "Upload files from my computer" and selecting the lab-provided file "access_30Day.log" from my laptop, I ended up with a process that took about an hour and a half, and resulted in 29,173,335 indexed events from 36 sources.

According to the tutorial, after loading the three files, I should have 239,625 indexed events. Clearly something went awry. I will speculate on what, at the close of this post. Meanwhile...

(1) How do I delete or remove the events, NONE of which bear any association with the lab's data file?

(2) How do I prevent the inadvertent, ongoing collection of this data? I wish to have NOTHING incoming that is not explicitly part of the "Fundamentals" course.

I have looked through answers provided in this forum, but not knowing how to properly ask, have been unsuccessful at zeroing in on what to do. Among other sources of confusion, many referred to functionality of older versions of Splunk. Others referred to operations that take one outside of the Web Console or into a context I could not identify.

I did take a look at splunk's /etc/system/local/inputs.conf file. The contents (in contrast to the default version) are minimal:

[default] 
host = cnit-ubuntu18

The Sources of the indexed Events aligns with this, as they consist primarily of log files on my Ubuntu cloud server. Is the phrase [default] in the the local file basically a call to include the official "default" inputs.conf?