Splunk Search

splunk search query for CPU usage

Atul1507
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hi i am new to splunk.
i have splink event like this
" system CPU | 6.039 % | system time | 0.009 % |

how can i get avg CPU % usage value against index type ? via report or dashboards.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

Atul1507
Loves-to-Learn Lots

i tried these query ..but not seeing any output in CPU_perc field.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Atul1507,

please, what out do you have in

index=*
| rex "system CPU\|(?<CPU_perc>\d+)\s+\%"
| table CPU_perc

?

if you haven't any result, the field extraction is wrong, in this case, please share more examples of your data.

If instead you have results, please share some of them.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

Atul1507
Loves-to-Learn Lots

cant share more details as its client server.

but there is no field extracted for CPU

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

hi @Atul1507,

please, send some log, masking the relevant data (e.g. hostname or IP address), but maintain the data structure.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

Atul1507
Loves-to-Learn Lots

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX gsystem.cpp:XXX] System_GSystem|GSystemWatcher|Idle|involuntary context switches|0|user time|0.48%|system time|0.45%|system CPU|7.14687%|iowait|0.0224%
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX gsystem.cpp:XXX] System_GSystem|GSystemWatcher|Health|ProcMaxGB|0|ProcAlertGB|0|CurrentGB|16|SysMinFreePct|10|SysAlertFreePct|30|FreePct|77
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX gsystem.cpp:XXX] System_GSystem|GSystemWatcher|Idle|involuntary context switches|0|user time|0.46%|system time|0.44%|system CPU|7.11321%|iowait|0.056%
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX gsystem.cpp:XXX] System_GSystem|GSystemWatcher|Health|ProcMaxGB|0|ProcAlertGB|0|CurrentGB|16|SysMinFreePct|10|SysAlertFreePct|30|FreePct|77
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX gsystem.cpp:XXX] System_GSystem|GSystemWatcher|Idle|involuntary context switches|0|user time|0.61%|system time|0.46%|system CPU|8.64004%|iowait|0.0448%