Splunk Search

regex to cull particular dest and src IP's before indexing

dthompsonsplunk
Explorer

Hi All,
I have an issue where I need to cull certain IP sources and destinations from syslog sources before it gets indexed as these fill up our quota and we don't need to see it. I'm pretty sure I have the regex right even through its probably a but long winded but I've never used regex before.
What I need to do is put this in the transforms.conf file on the indexer but I'm not sure on the context I need to have so Splunk recognises it and culls it.
I have copied in what I have below, which isn't working, props file first then transforms. Its a Light Forwarder running in a deployment server environment

/opt/splunkforwarder/etc/system/local# cat props.conf
[loadbalancer]
NO_BINARY_CHECK = 1
pulldown_type = 1
TRANSFORMS-null = loadbalancer_setnull

/opt/splunkforwarder/etc/system/local# cat transforms.conf
[loadbalancer_setnull]

REGEX = dest_ip=\"172\.16\.100\.(6[5-9]|[7-8][0-9]|9[0-5])|224\.0\.0\.(5|18)|192\.168\.18[6-7]\.(0|16|48|240)\".*source_ip=\"172\.16\.\d+.\d+|0\.0\.0\.0\"

DEST_KEY = queue
FORMAT = nullQueue

there are a fair few combos we need to cull but 2 examples are:

dest 224.0.0.18 src 172.16.189.105
dest 192.168.187.48 src 0.0.0.0

Have been trying to get it work in the search app by prefixing with |rex field=_raw or |rex field=dest_ip and various combos but cannot get that working either.

0 Karma
1 Solution

dthompsonsplunk
Explorer

Just coming back to add a bit of info for anyone who may have come across this themselves. I have now got this working after working on it off and on when I had spare time.

• We use Light Forwarders so these will not do any parsing or data manipulation so the regex needed to go on the Indexers.