Splunk Search

Webtools app how to make get requests

nikhilnsr1998
Explorer

Hello @jkat54 , @richgalloway   

I am new to the add-on and am not able to figure out how to make API calls with this.

Attempting to use the  OpenWeatherMap api below { OpenWeatherMap API - Free Weather Data (for Developers) (rapidapi.com) }

| curl method=GET uri=https://community-open-weather-map.p.rapidapi.com/weather user=<mysplunkusername> pass=<mysplunkpassword> headerfield= {
'x-rapidapi-host': "community-open-weather-map.p.rapidapi.com",
'x-rapidapi-key': "API_key_from_rapid_API"
}
data={"q":"London","lat":"0","lon":"0","callback":"test","id":"2172797","lang":"null","units":"imperial","mode":"json"}

instead of getting the data i am getting below output. {attached screenshot}

can you please tell me what am i doing wrong

Labels (1)
Tags (3)
0 Karma

efavreau
Motivator

@nikhilnsr1998I only have some little info for you. The username and password shouldn't be what you use to log into Splunk. At least it isn't in my environment. I don't supply anything there. When I access that URL you provided in a web browser, I am told I didn't supply an API key. If the API key you have is specific to you, then consider not doing that, because your searches will show up in the audit log. Lastly, I also put the URI in double quotes. YMMV

###

If this reply helps you, an upvote would be appreciated.
0 Karma

nikhilnsr1998
Explorer

the issue was with  Openweathermap not providing the data for the requests.

Turns out they have a splunk app  :  TA-openweathermap

another issue i have is using passwords in my queries;

can i have some kind of password vault in splunk where i can securely save the passwords and reference in queries

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Routing logs with Splunk OTel Collector for Kubernetes

The Splunk Distribution of the OpenTelemetry (OTel) Collector is a product that provides a way to ingest ...

Welcome to the Splunk Community!