Splunk Search

Using Rex to extract string from event for table

vil505
Explorer

Hi,

I'm sure this is very simple, but I'm fairly new to regex and rex.

I'm trying to use rex to extract a string from the event logs, and then show that sring in a table.

Here is a sample event:

"2016-06-06 12:14:11,114 [RMI TCP Connection(453679)-10.128.110.184]- Remote invocation of " and here would be specifics.

Using the field extractor, I came up with the following:

rex field=_raw "(?ms)^(?:[^ \\n]* ){5}(?P<Remote_Invocation>\\w+\\s+\\w+\\s+)"

This allowed me to use the following search to table it:

index=qp_mds source="/app/logdata/logs/marketdata/performance.log"| rex field=_raw "(?ms)^(?:[^ \\n]* ){5}(?P<Remote_Invocation>\\w+\\s+\\w+\\s+)"| Table Remote_Invocation

However, all my table shows is Remote Invocation where the event should be. I can get the string if I table _raw, but it give me the whole string, whereas I only want what is after Remote invocation. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The field extractor can be hit-or-miss. Sometimes it's too specific. Try this:

index=qp_mds source="/app/logdata/logs/marketdata/performance.log"| rex "Remote invocation of (?<Remote_Invocation>.*)" | Table Remote_Invocation
---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Like this:

... | rex "Remote\s+Invocation\s+of\s+(?<Remote_Invocation>.+)" | stats count by Remote_Invocation

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The field extractor can be hit-or-miss. Sometimes it's too specific. Try this:

index=qp_mds source="/app/logdata/logs/marketdata/performance.log"| rex "Remote invocation of (?<Remote_Invocation>.*)" | Table Remote_Invocation
---

vil505
Explorer

No, that didn't work. Now the just shows up blank.

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This run-anywhere example works in my environment.