Splunk Search

Splunk - Stat count return wrong values

florentsplunk
Engager

Hi,

I am totally puzzled.

I have two (unrelated) Splunk installations with SAME index and event structure (... everything).

- One platform (installed on private linux host) returns perfectly coherent Search Stat "counts"

- The other platform (on a AWS EC2) returns WRONG counts (like x2, x4 depending on the grouping criteria).

SCENARIO:

- I send 3 JSON events. Each event has one "correlationId" top-level JSON field with the same value. So filtering on that corelationId = xxx does return 3 perfectly coherent events (on both platforms).  
See "base-search-local-OK.jpg", "base-search-aws-OK.jpg" attachments.

- Then i run a Search "Stat" with a count grouped by correlationId. The result on the AWS platform is very WRONG by a factor of 4 (it returns 12 instead of 3!!!).   See stat-search-local-OK.jpg, stat-search-aws-WRONG.jpg.

While i am not an expert at Splunk, i have investigated for hours without understanding the root cause. I am a more advanced ELK user, but never experienced such puzzling questions.

==> There has to be something related to the difference with the platforms HOSTS. Why is Splunk on AWS host result so different to my local linux install. Can this be related to the network configuration?... no clue.

Thanks a lot if that rings a bell to you.
kind regards.
-Florent.

Labels (2)
Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

nyc_jason
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

I notice this is mulesoft in json, and in one instance you have the HEC sourcetype, and in another, its just the application name. In the props.conf for extraction, ensure you have KV_MODE=json, or it may take things line by line. Similar to this:

TRUNCATE = 0

LINE_BREAKER = ([\r\n]+)

SHOULD_LINEMERGE = false

INDEXED_EXTRACTIONS = JSON

KV_MODE = JSON