Splunk Search

Regex Help Needed

ttchorz
Path Finder

I am not an expert with regex and I am trying to extract a field name= First, Last out of the following string

user=LDAP://Server OU=Typical,OU=Users,OU=Branch,DC=domain,DC=com/First\, Last

Any help is appreciated

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This should do it.

... | rex "DC=\w+\/(?<name>[^\\]+)\\, (?<last>\w+)" | ...

BTW, regex101.com is your friend. 😉

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

aholzel
Communicator

I would extract it as two separate fields like this:

DC\=com\/(?<first>[^\\]*)\\\,\s*(?<last>[^\$]*)

and than create a calculated field user that puts them together, that way you can search efficiently on the complete name or on the first or last name.

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This should do it.

... | rex "DC=\w+\/(?<name>[^\\]+)\\, (?<last>\w+)" | ...

BTW, regex101.com is your friend. 😉

---
0 Karma

ttchorz
Path Finder

Thanks all! All of your answers were helpful and let me accomplish what I was looking for.

0 Karma

ttchorz
Path Finder

Is there an efficient way to extract the two values to one field ? Lets say User(name, last) ? Or should the fields be merged after being extracted?

0 Karma

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Well, sort of but you get the yucky stuff in the middle.

DC=\w+\/(?<name>[^\\]+\\, \w+)

That would give you First\, Last which is ... probably not quite what you desire. You can't split a single field up like what you want... no, you can't combine two individual things into one field? Either way, I'm not aware of a way to do that, so just combine 'em at the end.

... | rex "DC=\w+\/(?<name>[^\\]+)\\, (?<last>\w+)" | eval FullName=name." ".last | ...