Splunk Search

Looking for a phone # in logs using Splunk

cadeli

Newbie here, please help.

Trying to search/filter for all occurrences of phone #s in my logs. Regex would be [0-9] \ {10}. I don't have a key-value pair, my log looks similar to this: "This is an incoming call from 4151111111 on trunk 10.10.01.01 and was processed ok."

Later on, I will have to filter all occurences of calls from ANY #, ONLY on the specified trunk.

Thanks! A.C.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

Paolo_Prigione
Builder

I'd suggest to build a field out of it in any case...

You can use the interactive field extractor to get that:

1. pop a search for "this is an incoming call"
  2. right-click the little triangle on the left of a matching event
  3. select "extract fields"
  4. provide some examples of phone #s
  5. Test
  6. if satisfied save and provide a field name

The modified config files will reside in:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/users/<username>/<appname>/local/

As a faster alternative, locate the proper props.conf file where your sourcetype stanza is specified and append this line to such a stanza:

EXTRACT-phone = (?i)incoming call from (?<phonenum>\d+) on trunk (?<trunk>\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3})  

then pop a search like

"this is an incoming call" | extract reload=true

to reload the configuration and see if Splunk got the new fields.

Lowell
Super Champion

cadeli, please update your original question (use the "edit" link) to include additional examples of what your event looks like and what phone numbers you are looking to extract. Be sure to include examples of different types of events that you would like to extract phone #s from (it sounds like you may have multiple formats, based on the fact that your question and your above comment show two different message formats.)

cadeli

I should change the name of the Question/Thread because in fact I am looking for a way to catch ALL phone numbers.

0 Karma

cadeli