Splunk Search

I need help finding a substring and setting it to display in a new field.

dlespron
Path Finder

I am sure this is probably a noob question, but I am a noob and I have been researching this for a while this morning and am not having any luck. Maybe you can help!

Ok, I am pulling a query from a log file that returns a random string of text such as:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx11=123456xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

What I would like to do is take that 11= value and set it to a new field called OrderID, whereas the 123456 which just show up in the order ID field. Any help or insight on this would be great!

Thanks again!

Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

lukejadamec
Super Champion

Try

yoursearch |rex ".*[1][1]=(?P<orderID>\d+)\D"

This should create a field from _raw named orderID.

Explaination:

rex used without a field= will extract from _raw

The expression needs to be enclosed in quotes.

.* means any sequence of characters or symbols.

[1][1] means exactly the number 11

= is not a regular expression, so it is not escaped and means exactly the symbol =.

(?P<orderid>\d+) is the capture group.

? means not lazy, or grab the first occurance.

P stands for pull the value and name it orderid.

<orderid> sets field name for the extracted value, in this case we're going to call it orderid.

\d+ means one or more digit. So, what we have so far is, grab one or more digits after 11= as value for the field orderid.

\D means not a digit. So, it says stop grabbing digits for the value when a non-digit is encountered.

View solution in original post

lukejadamec
Super Champion

Try

yoursearch |rex ".*[1][1]=(?P<orderID>\d+)\D"

This should create a field from _raw named orderID.

Explaination:

rex used without a field= will extract from _raw

The expression needs to be enclosed in quotes.

.* means any sequence of characters or symbols.

[1][1] means exactly the number 11