Splunk Search

How to read an array of fields from a single event and make into different records ?

JP
Explorer

Hi,

In Splunk, I have Test Automation results logs which has details like Test case name, Test Status, Error, Duration, Date etc in multiple events. Each event has nearly 25 - 20 test cases details in an array. I need to fetch each test case as a single record. 

JP_1-1626453900513.png

When I use spath, it is fetching the fields, but all the test case of a single event is written as a single record.

index=jenkins OR source=\test OR job_name:"Dev/TestAutomation/Regression"| spath

I am very new to Splunk. Is there any way by which I can write each testcase details as a single record. With these details, my requirement is to create an Regression Test Automation dashboard.

Thanks

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

No, as I showed, you need to extract the array as a multivalue field, mvexpand that, then extract the sub-elements of those

index=jenkins* host=opsdev-app-jenkins.route53.com source="/test"
| search job_name=Dev/TestAutomation/Cert1_Regression
| spath path=testsuite.testcase{} output=testcase
| mvexpand testcase
| spath input=testcase path=classname output=tclassname
| spath input=testcase path=testname output=testname
| spath input=testcase path=status output=status
| rename metadata.Nexis.Auto.Environment AS Environment
| table job_started_at job_duration job_name Environment tclassname testname status

View solution in original post

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try something like this (you may have to adjust because it is difficult to read images so I may have got the structure wrong):

| mvexpand testcase
0 Karma

JP
Explorer