Splunk Search

How to plot requests per second for each service on a single timechart irrespective of the span chosen

pdpsplunk100
Path Finder

Hi,

I'm new to Splunk and I'm looking for some help with plotting a timechart to show requests per sec. Thanks in advance.

I currently have a dashboard panel that shows transactions (or requests)/second. The user chooses the time range and span from a drop-down and TPS is plotted for that time range. This is the search I'm using.

search string | timechart span=$tok_span$ count | timechart per_second(count) 

This works great, but the search string returns all services grouped under a certain category that is filtered by the url string.

Now I need to plot the same metric (TPS) for each service (and there is like 10 of them). I have an eventtype created for each service.

My problem is timechart per_second() works only for a single integer value count, but I want to be able to plot this for each service on the same timechart.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

0 Karma
1 Solution

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Give this a try

search string | bucket span=$tok_span$ _time | stats count by _time eventtype| timechart per_second(count)  by eventtypye

View solution in original post

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Give this a try

search string | bucket span=$tok_span$ _time | stats count by _time eventtype| timechart per_second(count)  by eventtypye

pdpsplunk100
Path Finder

Does exactly what I was looking for. Thanks a bunch! The only thing is, its slow to load when the time range is > 4 hours. I came across summary indexing which may help with performance I think. I will try to explore that. But this is great, thanks again.

0 Karma

s2_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

You say timechart is only working for a single integer value count, but that's not quite true. Based on your description, you should be able to use a 'by' grouping clause:
... timechart span=$tok_span$ count by service