Splunk Search

How to create a search to find a percentage using my data set and display this in a timechart?

jojujose

First of all I am very new to splunk! 🙂
My data can be simplified to look something like this.

Employee = (UniqueId Id, EmployeeId ManagerId)

So we have an employee record which has a Id field and a managerId field. The managerId field contains the Id of the manager who is also an employee.
So basically there can be records in employee which don't have managerId in them.
I wanted to do a splunk search that determines the % of employees that have manager.
Currently, I am doing something like this, which returns me the employees that have managers:

index=* host=* logRecordType=mytype managerId=* | timechart dc(Id) AS "Number of employees with manager" span=1d

However, I need to do something which will give me the % of employees that have manager over time:

index=* host=* logRecordType=wousa|eval(managerId="*") as employeesWithManagers,count as Employees| eval(employeesWithManagers/Employees*100) as "% of total employess with managers"| --somehow timechart this over time?

The above search returns 0 for employeesWithManagers so I know that's incorrect.
Any suggestions on how to get to the promised land will help!

0 Karma
1 Solution

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Well, first off let me say welcome!

Secondly, let me say EDIT FAIL. Somehow my browser got confused and posted this while I was editing it. Sorry. 🙂

The first technique that came to mind would be something like the following.

index=X host=Y logRecordType=mytype | eval HasManager=if(isnull(managerId),0,1) | timechart eval(count/sum(HasManager)) as percentWithManager

In that, we make sure our base search returns both events with managerId and those without. We create a new field with a value 1 or 0 for if managerId is in that event or not - this makes it easy to do "count" style calculations. Finally, we use a timechart of an eval'd field.