Splunk Search

Extracting countries from sourcetype without Longitude/Latitude ?

wifemin
Engager

Hi ! I am new to splunk, and just started recently.
I have some RSS feeds implemented into Splunk through "Syndication", and I was wondering on how I can extract countries from the feeds as there is no longitude/latitude ?

Edit //
There is no IP addresses either. sourcetype=syndication, I guess there is a need for this in order to show and extract the country out from the feeds in syndication

Here's an example of a raw feed.

summary="

Russia is engaged in wide-ranging information warfare operations aimed at undermining the United States, and the federal government has few defenses against the attacks,

"

In this case, I would like to extract the country "Russia" and add a count to it and show it on a map.

Sorry for being vague, I would give more information if needed, because I don't know where I am being vague at

0 Karma
1 Solution

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

There are several steps to this.

The first thing you need to do is make a rex or regex to pull out country names from the events in your data. Well, at least that's what I did. The "string" of all the country names I made the rex/regex out of I created by running this search:

| inputlookup geo_attr_countries.csv 
| fields country  

Then moving the output to notepad++ and putting a pipe symbol in place of each \r\n. That gave me a list like this:

Aruba|Afghanistan|Angola|Anguilla|Albania|American Samoa|Antarctica| ... 

Now that I have that list, I can do something silly like create a big rex and feed into it some test data. (I'm just going to test with a subset of the data for now). I heartily recommend making this a) an automatic lookup but b) only on the data you need. Anyway, the run-anywhere example is below:

| makeresults 
| eval MyTest="And today, Ireland declared they no longer believed in trees."