Splunk Search

Extract information via regex

rafamss
Contributor

Hi guys,

I need some help to split the field below:

xyu_0987|123456:123456|123456:123456,

before the first pipeline(xyz_9807) displays the information about one rule;
after the first pipeline(|93830:09383) displays the information about alerts rules;
after the second pipeline(|093732:827332) displays information about denied rules.

The second point is that each rule is segmented by " : ", how i split the fields in order to keep this format: Remembering that segmented rule can be repeat more times, and each rule must be in fields separated.

Rule       Alerts Rule              Denied Rule 
           Rule 1 : Rule 2          Rule 1 : Rule 2
xyu_0987   123456 : 123456          123456 : 123456

Can you help me ?

Regards,

Rafael Martins

1 Solution

sbsbb
Builder

For making my tries with splunk regex, I use the program Kodos, that use the same synthax...

I would suggest you something like (I'm not good at regex, but mostly achieve what I want 😉

| rex max_match=0 "(?P<Rule>.*)\|(?P<Alert1>.*):(?P<Alert2>.*)\|(?P<Denied1>.*):(?P<Denied2>.*)"

If the number of Rules between the pipes is unknown, than I would try first to extract AlertString, DeniedString, and then extract the Rules as Multivalue Field you could mvexpand :

| rex max_match=0 "(?P<Rule>.*)\|(?P<AlertString>.*)\|(?P<DeniedString>.*)
| rex max_match=0 field=AlertString "(?P<AlertRules>[regex to split Rules])"
| rex max_match=0 field=AlertString "(?P<DeniedRules>[regex to split Rules])"
| mvexpand AlertRules | fields - AlertString
| mvexpand DeniedRules | fields - DeniedString
| table *

View solution in original post

somesoni2
Revered Legend

If you have already extracted the field from your log which has rules information, say ruleInfo, the following works.