Splunk Cloud Platform

Data restore

vishenps
Path Finder

Hi Folks,
I wanted to restore a chunk of a data (jan 2023-aug 2023) from a specific index, we do use splunk cloud and use splunk's restore services.
total size of data from jan to aug: >1700GB
our licensee : 800 GB per day
will splunk reindex those data??
should I do in chunk??
I'm aware of the limitation of 10% of total archive (I'm very new to splunk tough,So correct me.)WHAT WOULD BE WAY TO GO? 

Labels (2)
0 Karma

mattymo
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

"should I do in chunk"? - Yes, use the date ranges to reduce your date range and restore in multiple chunks. 

No it will not "reindex it" - https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/SplunkCloud/9.1.2308/Admin/DataArchiver#Restore_archived_data_...

You can use the "check size" button to make sure your span is under your entitlement. Remember Dynamic Data Active Archive (DDAA)  it is 10% of your Dynamic Data Active Searchable (DDAS), NOT your daily ingest entitlement. Check "cloud monitoring console> license usage > storage summary"

Span too wide! too many buckets!:

mattymo_0-1706199377306.png

shorten the span, now i can restore!:

mattymo_0-1706199687283.png

reduce your chunk size to under your limit, restore that data, search it, then in the table below you can clear it and restore you next chunk. 

Data quality matters here, as if your timestamps are all over the place it can be suprizing how many buckets you have to restore to bring back any give date. 

it will not take multiple days to restore this. if you just shrink your window you can do it in steps. 

restore > search (tip use collect command to help move what you want to another index) > clear restore > repeat

- MattyMo
0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust