Reporting

How do I display the date in my report

ttudor
Explorer

I am new to splunk and I am using the app search and reporting. I am trying to display the event date in my search results. I have three fields date_mday, date_month, date_year in the log file. I want to combine those three fields into one field that displays on the report. Any suggestions?

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

hortonew
Builder

I think you're looking for the _time field. e.g. | table _time, field1, field2

View solution in original post

jeremiahc4
Builder

I think you want the strftime() method of the eval command;

strftime(X,Y)

This function takes an epochtime value, X, as the first argument and renders it as a string using the format specified by Y. For a list and descriptions of format options, refer to the topic "Common time format variables". This example returns the hour and minute from the _time field:

... | eval n=strftime(_time, "%H:%M")

Use the following to determine which pieces of _time to use for the date;
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.1.4/SearchReference/Commontimeformatvariables

It would appear %F would be what you need (i.e. | eval n=strftime(_time, "%F")

0 Karma

hortonew
Builder

I think you're looking for the _time field. e.g. | table _time, field1, field2

janderja

I just want to add the date/time to the report to indicate when the report was created or over what period of time that pertains to the analysis.

0 Karma

ttudor
Explorer

I changed the code to
| stats count by sch_id, java_version, _time | eval n=strftime(_time, "%m %d, %Y" ) |

I am still getting the 2014-10-08 08:36:08

0 Karma

ttudor
Explorer

Perfect thank you

0 Karma

hortonew
Builder

You're doing a stats function on the variable "_time" so it will display that. Again, you want to do your eval before your stats function, and do the stats on the new variable "n"

0 Karma

ttudor
Explorer

When I run