Monitoring Splunk

How to check whether a file received in some folders and read those files to compare data?

mnarmada
Path Finder

Hello All,

I have two applications in remote server or host. Every day I need to login to those applications at scheduled times and check different folders in the applications, to check whether files like stock and all received in that folder or not. If received that is fine and I will check another folder. If not received I will do it manually.
Now I want to make this automatic through splunk.
Whenever a new file added to one folder, I want to get message to my mobile and an email.

Please suggest me how can I do this as I am new to splunk.
If I want to monitor like this, do I need to install forwarder on server side?
If "Monitor" option is the only option, could you please tell me the way to do.

I also have a oracle database connection with these applications. Is database helps in any way?, as it has tables with these files information.
Is it possible to send alerts if I use data base extract?

Please help me and provide some documents to go through and make myself strong.

Best Regards,
Narmada M

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

koshyk
Super Champion

It is quite simple and we do it very regularly across 100's of client systems

1. Install UF (Universal forwarder) on the client/remote machine.
  2. Ensure deployment-server and the client machine works and everything is good.
  3. Create an app MY_remote_monitor_inputs and put an inputs.conf within it . Put Stanza of monitor the directory or File. Ensure also index=some_index and sourcetype is set for easy identification
  4. Collect this data into Splunk. If you don't want to index it, it is tricky, but there is a solution for that too. But I will keep it simple as though you index the file