Knowledge Management

mastering splunk

sarah89
Path Finder

i'm new in this

i want to know how much time of learning how to use splunk and it's fontionalities

thk's

Tags (1)
1 Solution

MHibbin
Influencer

@Sarah89,

You should start looking through the docs provided by MarioM. It also helps to give yourself a task whilst learning (e.g. Want to monitor disk space), this way you can follow the process from start to finish. For example, on Linux installation this could be:

1. Data: Create a simple bash script that calls the command "df -m"
  2. Inputs: Set this up as a scripted input in Splunk to run every 30 seconds
  3. Searching: Craft a search to show free space for each filesystem
  4. Reports: Plot it in a pie chart (e.g. Free space over Capacity)
  5. Dashboard: Add the pie chart to a dashboard.
  6. Alerts: Create an alert, to notify you when a device reaches 80% utilisation

You should also jump on the IRC chat channel "#splunk" (link: http://www.splunk.com/view/SP-CAAACDF). As there many helpful and friendly users there. So you'll be able to get a quick answer to simple queries.

Hope this helps

MHibbin

View solution in original post

MHibbin
Influencer

@Sarah89,

You should start looking through the docs provided by MarioM. It also helps to give yourself a task whilst learning (e.g. Want to monitor disk space), this way you can follow the process from start to finish. For example, on Linux installation this could be:

1. Data: Create a simple bash script that calls the command "df -m"
  2. Inputs: Set this up as a scripted input in Splunk to run every 30 seconds
  3. Searching: Craft a search to show free space for each filesystem
  4. Reports: Plot it in a pie chart (e.g. Free space over Capacity)
  5. Dashboard: Add the pie chart to a dashboard.
  6. Alerts: Create an alert, to notify you when a device reaches 80% utilisation