Getting Data In

automatically forward splunk data to database

nielsenr

Ok so I am new to splunk and have an instance set up with logs from several servers feeding into it.
My question is can i get the data from splunk into a database(probably mysql) automatically.
There seems to be no clear explanation to say whether this is possible or not.

I have read a bit about the splunk forwarder would this be able to do it? once more there is no real explanation I can find.

Any suggestions would be helpful
thanks

0 Karma
1 Solution

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

A couple of approaches :

1) The Splunk MYSQL connector includes a search command, mysqloutput, that you can use to insert or update records in a table in a MySQL database based on fields resulting from your Splunk search.

2) you could use one of the Developer SDKs, write a custom program to execute a Splunk search , process the XML/JSON/CSV result and roll this up into a SQL statement to insert/update tables in your database.

3) you could write your own custom search command , and insert this at the end of you search pipeline to insert/update your DB tables with Splunk search fields ie: index=foo sourcetype=goo | stats count by host | myCustomOutputToDBCommand

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

A couple of approaches :

1) The Splunk MYSQL connector includes a search command, mysqloutput, that you can use to insert or update records in a table in a MySQL database based on fields resulting from your Splunk search.

2) you could use one of the Developer SDKs, write a custom program to execute a Splunk search , process the XML/JSON/CSV result and roll this up into a SQL statement to insert/update tables in your database.

3) you could write your own custom search command , and insert this at the end of you search pipeline to insert/update your DB tables with Splunk search fields ie: index=foo sourcetype=goo | stats count by host | myCustomOutputToDBCommand

0 Karma