Getting Data In

WinEventLog:Security: Splunk Could Not Get The Description...

wiz561
Explorer

Hi!

I'm just starting out with Splunk and I'm having it index the WinEventLog:Security. When doing a simple search for account logon and logoffs, I get the "Splunk could not get the description...." I am using this as the search string.

source="WinEventLog:Security" EventCode=4624 OR EventCode=2625 OR EventCode=4634

Here is the results of the query.

--

1.  05/09/2012 07:45:54 AM
2.  LogName=Security
3.  SourceName=Microsoft-Windows-Eventlog
4.  EventCode=4624
5.  EventType=0
6.  Type=Information
7.  ComputerName=WIN-CCBON561AV9
8.  TaskCategory=None
9.  OpCode=Info
10. RecordNumber=1076005
11. Keywords=Audit Success
12. Message=Splunk could not get the description for this event. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupt.
14. FormatMessage error: the message resource is present but the message is not found in the string/message table
16. Got the following information from this event: 
18. WIN-CCBON561AV9$
19. WORKGROUP
20. SYSTEM
21. NT AUTHORITY
22. Advapi  
23. Negotiate
24. -
25. -
26. C:\Windows\System32\services.exe
27. -
28. -

I can't imagine that Splunk can't interpret a logon event from Windows, and I'm almost sure it's something I'm doing wrong. If anybody has any suggestions, that would be great.

Thanks!

Tags (2)

mship
Path Finder

Splunk doesn't go to the .dll to get this info...the windows event viewer does. Look at your windows event logs locally and I will bet you are getting the same message. If it is your security log you are probably missing the msaudite.dll file under system32 folder along with security subkey under the hklm\system\currentcontrolset\services\eventlog\security.

If it is in the app or system event log you are missing the registry hives for those events. You can just copy them over from a working machine.

0 Karma

Stefan_van_de_R
Explorer