Getting Data In

How to fix date format to extracted eval field?

pp3295
Explorer
index="indnewwrapper" | search rfq_id:
| join [ search index="indnewwrapper" | search rfq_id:
| eval validateEmailMessagecomplete=if(like(_raw,"%validateEmailMessage()%"), sent_date,"1900-01-01 12:00:00.000") ]
| eval validateEmailMessagecomplete1=strftime(strftime(validateEmailMessagecomplete,"%A %B %d %Y %I:%M:%S %p %Z"),"%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")
| table pRFQ_Id,validateEmailMessagecomplete,validateEmailMessagecomplete1

I am finding a string in a search and extracting a validateEmailMessagecomplete date. using like function.

i am getting desired output but i am not able to change to datetime format validateEmailMessagecomplete1 it shows blank value

pp3295_0-1660123000436.png

i searched various post on the forum. but did not found desired solution.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

pp3295
Explorer

thanks bhai ( bro ), its working. showing values

pp3295_0-1660132013776.png

I am new to splunk, learning from this forum and youtube. do you know any good channels for splunk learning.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

pp3295
Explorer

checked by your way. still now luck. But thanks for your support.

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Epoch dates run from 1970 not 1900 - try this

| eval validateEmailMessagecomplete=if(like(_raw,"%validateEmailMessage()%"), sent_date,"1970-01-01 00:00:00.000")

Having said that, what is it you are trying to achieve with the join command? Perhaps there is another way to approach it

0 Karma

pp3295
Explorer

pp3295_0-1660126678795.png

index="indnewwrapper" | search rfq_id:
| join [ search index="indnewwrapper" | search rfq_id:
| eval validateEmailMessagecomplete=if(like(_raw,"%validateEmailMessage()%"), sent_date,"1980-01-01 12:00:00.000") ]
| eval validateEmailMessagecomplete1=strptime(validateEmailMessagecomplete,"%A %B %d %Y %I:%M:%S %p %Z")
| table pRFQ_Id,validateEmailMessagecomplete,validateEmailMessagecomplete1

0 Karma