Getting Data In

How do you monitor a folder in Splunk for a specific index or source type?

maryamchar
Explorer

Hello,

I'm new to Splunk. I'm using the Search and Reporting app only. I want to upload data using monitor, however, my question is there a way to monitor a certain folder for a specific source type and Index? I want Splunk to keep monitoring that source type, and that index, all the time and all my files are located on the same folder.

How would i tell Splunk to monitor a certain source type or index ?

Please let me know, if you can show me an example that would be great, Thank you in advance!

0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You can't monitor for specific indexes or sourcetypes. You can, however, monitor for specific data using regular expressions. Events that match those expressions can be indexed and everything else can be discarded. See "Route and filter data" at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.1.2/Forwarding/Routeandfilterdatad.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You can't monitor for specific indexes or sourcetypes. You can, however, monitor for specific data using regular expressions. Events that match those expressions can be indexed and everything else can be discarded. See "Route and filter data" at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.1.2/Forwarding/Routeandfilterdatad.

---
0 Karma

maryamchar
Explorer

Thank you! Can you monitor an entire folder instead that has a lot of files that keep coming to that folder ? using the monitor (add data) tool. ? If yes how should i approch that ? Thank you!

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Yes, you can monitor a directory as well as individual files. Using the Add Data tool, select the Monitor option followed by "Files & Directories". The rest should be self-explanatory.

---
0 Karma

maryamchar
Explorer