Getting Data In

How do i set up a dashboard to monitor my home network

jcodjo3
Explorer

I cant use the home monitor app because I have a Zyxel modem from Centurylink.  And I am very new to Splunk.  any ideas on where I can start from in getting data in from my home network would be greatly appreciated.  I have splunk installed on the laptop I want to monitor the smart tv and the xbox, and an additional desktop computer.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

vikramyadav
Contributor

Hey, @jcodjo3 you can tryZyxel firewall Add-on to monitor logs.
https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4907/

--------------------------------------------------------

If this helps your like will be appreciated😀

brent_weaver
Builder

Hey there, welcome to the wonderful world of splunk.  The first thing to explore is how to get data in from the devices you want to monitor. For example a quick search on Zylex model tells me that this device can send syslog feed to external syslog server. If this is the case (for this device), you could setup a TCP listening input nnd configure the model to send to the splunk server IP and the port you designate. This procedure will give you more information https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Data/Monitornetworkports.

The key to your success is getting as much data in as you can and to make it searchable. By searchable I mean that the data is parsed into key/value pairs so you can easily search on key's (i.e. src_ip=10.5.6.6). Splunk being splunk, they did allot of the work for you so it is well aware of the various types of syslog formats and therefore you don't need to do anything to get it to parse into kv pars. The key to that is that you sourcetype the data feed as syslog, and waaa -laaa splunk does the rest. 

Hope this gives you a good start!

jcodjo3
Explorer

Hello thank you so much for the response. 

I am however a little confused on what source type to select , when going through the input settings.