Getting Data In

Data stop insert ?

Afik_Office
Loves-to-Learn
Hello, ***this is my first time use of Splunk *** I have install the splunk and setup simple syslog udp on port 11514 it use to work great until last week , then It stop getting any data . I have disable the "service" , and open a simpe python udp server (to see if I'm getting any data) , to see where is the problem(didn't change any setting on the sender dise) in the UDP server - I get the messages . shut down the python server , enable the Splunk - but still get nothing what could it be ? I'm using the free license (and it havn't been more then 30 days - if it's an issue ) Thanks ,
0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Afik_Office 

Yes it total combining all inputs, if you do not have any messages as license_warning thats good. If you are able to check _internal logs.

index=_internal source=/opt/splunk/var/log/splunk/license_usage.log st=<replace_with_your_sourcetype>
| stats sum(b) as total_bytes 
| eval MB=(total_bytes/1024)/1024

--

An upvote would be appreciated if it helps!

0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Afik_Office 

These are the points to check when you are using free license,

• The Enterprise Trial license allows you to index 500 MB of data per day. If you exceed that limit you receive a license warning.
  • If you generate three or more warnings in a rolling 30-day period, you are in violation of your license. Splunk Enterprise continues to index your data, but you cannot search it. The warnings persist for 14 days. No reset license is available.

You might be receiving the data on Splunk and indexing it, if you have violated license you are unable to search it hence you are assuming udp stream has stopped receiving. Refer - About license violations - Splunk Documentation