Deployment Architecture

Remote access

tamtamnoob

Hi, i am new to splunk , so there is a few question i would like to ask. I got two computer A and B.
Computer A is install with splunk. How should i configure my computer so that i am able to access my splunk content(installed in computer A) using computer B remotely. Thanks!

Tags (1)
0 Karma

techieg

I had this issue and after creating an inbound rule to allow TCP port 8000 on the firewall on the system where Splunk is installed. For an "Enterprise" product, one would think simple check boxes will make this happen, same goes for issues everyone is having discovering and getting data from remote machines, even on a Windows AD domain controller. Not so "enterprise", if you ask me.

0 Karma

techieg

MuS, you may be right. I removed the allowRemoteLogin entry form server.conf and am still able to remotely access splunk web UI. I guess its simply having to allow inbound traffic to port 8000 (or whatever you may change it to in Splunk) in the firewall on the system hosting Splunk. I have updated my earlier how-to response.

0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

usually this is the only thing that blocks login's to the UI...

0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I think you messed some things up here: allowRemoteLogin only controls logins to the splunkd deamon not the Web UI and any needed firewall rule is purely OS related.

0 Karma

BobM
Builder

Splunk is accessed with a browser so any computer on your network should be able to connect to it provided you don't have firewalls blocking them. If you haven't made any changes, point your browser to port 8000 on the other computer.

http://computerA.mycompany.com:8000

Ayn
Legend