Dashboards & Visualizations

how can create a search and add to dashboard for my top 5 servers application and system logs

pboon

I am new to Splunk and I want to get a search with top 5 hosts showing application/system logs and add this to a dashboard for realtime for last 30 mins. also i want to create a new dashboard with top 5 hosts errors and warnings in application and system logs changes in realtime 30 mins. can someone point me in the right direction for the search details to get this to display please.

0 Karma
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Try this, but DO NOT use a real-time search; it will crater the performance and scalability of your Search Head:

eventtype="wineventlog_application" source="*inEventLog:*" (host="*" OR ComputerName="*") TaskCategory="*"  SourceName="*" EventCode="*" Type="*" *
| top limit=10 host BY Type

View solution in original post

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Try this, but DO NOT use a real-time search; it will crater the performance and scalability of your Search Head:

eventtype="wineventlog_application" source="*inEventLog:*" (host="*" OR ComputerName="*") TaskCategory="*"  SourceName="*" EventCode="*" Type="*" *
| top limit=10 host BY Type
0 Karma

pboon

thanks for this I have amended your seach to

(eventtype="wineventlog_application" OR eventtype="wineventlog_system") source="*inEventLog:*" (host="*" OR ComputerName="*") TaskCategory="*"  SourceName="*" EventCode="*" (Type="Error" OR Type"Warning) * | sort -count | top limit=10 host

so this will do a 15 min refresh and this searches application and system event logs on windows servers and does errors and warnings.
i hope this is what i need.

thanks

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

It probably is, so be sure to UpVote. Also, come back after you test to let us know if it isn't, and to click Accept to close your question if it is.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi pboon,